In 1897, brothers Philipp and Wilhelm Rosenthal and ceramics engineer Karl Maria Bauer founded Porcelain Factory Bauer, Rosenthal & Co, which in 1901 became a subsidiary of Rosenthal AG and existed till 1997. Rosenthal realized an artistically inventive plant construction in Kronach which also complied with important functions regarding human working conditions. The roof shows a system of hexagonal shapes which form a honeycomb structure.
In 1899, Ernst Alboth relocated his father’s porcelain painting shop
to Kronach. In the middle of the 1920s, Alboth’s son-in-law Georg
Kaiser became part of the business and the name of the company
was modified to Al-Ka Art. During the interwar period, the company
recorded a sales success resulting from gift series, particularly rococo
lace figurines in the Thuringian style. Al-Ka Art moved to Bad Staffelstein
Stockhardt & Schmidt-Eckert from Meißen also had a branch operation in Kronach between 1912 and 1930. The factory produced household ware and technical porcelain. Brothers Kühnlenz’ porcelain factory (1884 –1930) means something to doll collectors. Today events take place, where until 1904 doll heads, bathing kids and swim animals were made. Kühnlenz Passage, an industrial monument,
is situated between the town’s centre and the regional garden show’s park.
Fortress Rosenberg, which once was the castle of the bishop of Bamberg, dominates the old town. It is home for several museums including the Franconian Gallery and the Stonemason Museum. Explore the fortress on your own, get an insight into Franconian’s art or discover during a guided tour the underground reserve and ordnance casemates of this late-medieval bastion.
- Weddings in the princebishop’schambers at Fortress Rosenberg
- Activity bath Crana Mare
- Rafting trips on river Rodach in the area of Neuses (May – Aug.)
- Info snow telephone: 09261/601518